Browsing: Campus News

DCUfm wins two Smedia Awards

April 22nd, 2010 | By DCUfm

DCUfm came away with the awards for Radio DJ of the Year and Best News and Current Affairs Programme at the National Student Media Awards!

Russell James Alford from The Open Line collect his DJ award from RTÉ 2fm’s Ruth Scott, and Séamus Conwell, Keith Hoare, Rowan Finch and Brendan McLoughlin won their prize for Newswire.

DCUfm won two of the three radio awards on offer, establishing our place as the best college radio station in Ireland.

DCU was the night’s big winner, winning 10 of the 33 awards available. The College View won five awards, including Journalist of the Year which was won by Samuel Hamilton.

Steve Conlon (picured right), presenter of Simply Classic, beat Culture Café’s Nessy Monaghan in the Blog of the Year category.

The success caps a tremendous year for DCUfm, which has transformed itself into a quality, content-driven station with more listeners than ever before.

Alan Regan, Deputy Station Manger, said: “These awards highlight the brilliant work done by DCUfm’s members, over 100 in all. Their talent and enthusiasm never ceases to amaze me, and they’ve learned the ropes incredibly quickly – the fact that all our winners were first years proves that. Congratulations to Séamus, Keith, Rowan, Brendan and Russell, and congratulations too to all our other fantastic nominees who’ve done us so proud.

“We’ve had a better year than any of us dreamed of, and I know that the next 12 months will be even better.”

  3e coverage: Click here (from 5:18) press release: Click here
Irish Times coverage: Click here Smedias homepage: Click here

M.P.S. is Ireland’s Most Improved College Society!

April 14th, 2010 | By Alan

Two BICS awards from two for MPS and DCUfm!

MPS is the Irish College Societies Awards Most Improved Society of 2009/10! The award marks a tremendous year for MPS, who have come on leaps and bounds since last year. won Ireland’s best college society website, reflecting the tremendous work put into the site by its creator Steve Conlon.

MPS’s Richard Geraghty, Denis McEvoy and Micheál Clesham praised MPS members for working “day in, day out” throughout the year. Denis told the crowd: “We’ve had 100s working every day with MPS, and this is what we’re going to continue to do next year!”

Alan Regan, during the presentation for website of the year, said DCUfm members were “the 110 hardest-working people I have ever met in my life!”

Congrats to Airsoft, who won DCU’s other award on the night for Best Poster. Thanks to Bob, Damian, and Angelica for the lovely interview earlier too!

DCUfm wins at the Hybrids!

April 14th, 2010 | By Alan has picked up best website at the MPS Hybrid Awards!

We’ll put up the full list when we get home from the BICS in Athlone, but here are the DCUfm winners:

Website of the Year: (Steve Conlon)

News and Current Affairs Writer of the Year: Denis McEvoy (Culchie Corner; Newswire; Station Manager)

Sports Writer of the Year: Mike Glennon (Metal Module)

Radio Presenter of the Year: Nessy Monaghan (Culture Café)

Music and Entertainment Programme of the Year: Mid Riff (Robyn Keleghan, Corrina Kavanagh, Susie Gorman, Ruth Jephson). Runner-up: Culchie Corner (Denis McEvoy, Alan Regan).

News Programme of the Year: Newswire (Louise MacSweeney, Niall O’Connor, Ann MArie Duffin, Ruth Hogan & Denis McEvoy)

Commendations: Nessy Monaghan – Culture Café (Arts Programme of the Year), Alan Regan (News Programme of the Year)

Congratulations one and all! Next up tonight is the BICS, follow the hashtag #BICS2010 on Twitter for the latest.

Page 1 of 3123